ILLUSTRATION FRIDAY – DETECTIVE!

It’s late at night here. Wow! Tonight flew by. I was finishing this up while listening to some new music from The National (awesome!) and watching the NFL draft. Waited 3 hours just to have the Vikings trade their 1st round pick with 2 minutes left. 

I have to admit, this week’s “DETECTIVE” theme was really tough, but fun. I was visiting a friend on Saturday evening. Since it was his wife’s night out, we drank some beers and watched MonsterQuest episodes on his TIVO. I was laughing at the Lizardman of Georgia, but then there was a bit on Bigfoot. Of course there were footprints. As always. So they made some plaster casts and found they were most likely wood planks or something. 

So that leads me to this illustration. I imagined a Sasquatch hiding out it the woods and trying to throw any investigator off of his trail. I was working on the addition of the hunter/explorer/monster-quest-type-of-detective, but found him to be obtrusive wherever I put him. And then I began to have fun with just the footprints and the thought of them going in circles. Up into the trees. Forwards and backwards. Happy it’s done, but I’m sure I’ll revisit the idea in the future. I added some of the sketches on my previous post. 
Now I’m going to watch some Ghost Hunters and go to bed. 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “ILLUSTRATION FRIDAY – DETECTIVE!

  1. This is awesome! I love the choice of colours. NIcely done!I'd love to hear what you think of mine:http://brittanyforrest88.blogspot.com/2010/04/illustration-friday-detective.html

  2. Arin says:

    I LOVE the Sasquatch! Also, great depth and color choice for the forest.

Leave a Reply

